Overview of ICTAM 2008

General Information

The Congress, ICTAM 2008, was invited by the Australian Academy of Science upon the recommendation of the Australian and New Zealand Theoretical and Applied Mechanics communities. A consortium of universities in South Australia will host the meeting. The Congress venue is the Adelaide Convention Centre. President of ICTAM 2008 is Professor Ernie Tuck of the University of Adelaide.

The International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics is an international non-governmental scientific organisation belonging to the International Council of Scientific Unions (ICSU). It was founded in 1948, with the objectives to form a link between persons and organisations engaged in scientific work in mechanics and related fields, and to promote the development of mechanics, both theoretical and applied, as a scientific discipline.

The International Congress of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (ICTAM) is held every four years. It provides an important means of meeting the objectives of IUTAM through the gathering of the mechanics community. The first ICTAM was held in 1924, in Delft, The Netherlands. A list of past ICTAM Congresses and their locations can be found by following the links to the left.


The Adelaide Convention Centre is located in the heart of Adelaide, South Australia, along Adelaide's civic avenue, North Terrace. International travellers to Adelaide are served by the newly completed Adelaide International Airport.


The official language of the Congress is English. No translation service will be provided.