IUTAM Bureau prizes

Three prizes, each consisting of US$500, a certificate, and a plaque, will be awarded by the IUTAM Bureau for outstanding presentations by younger scientists (under the age of 35 at the time of the award). One will be awarded in Fluid Mechanics, one in Solid Mechanics and one for the best poster (in either Fluid or Solid Mechanics). The winners will be announced at the Closing Ceremony of the Congress.

The Batchelor Prize in Fluid Mechanics

The Batchelor Prize, sponsored by Journal of Fluid Mechanics, is an award initially of US$25,000 to be presented at the International Congress of Theoretical and Applied Mathematics (ICTAM), taking place in Adelaide in August 2008. The recipient of the prize will deliver a lecture at ICTAM and this will also be published in Journal of Fluid Mechanics and be made freely available on the Cambridge Journals website. A selection committee whose members are internationally distinguished in fluid mechanics will award the prize.

See the Cambridge University Press web-site for updates.

Interfaces: in fluid mechanics and across disciplines
Howard Stone
Harvard University, USA

[+] Abstract

About George Batchelor

George Batchelor was a leading figure in fluid mechanics throughout the latter half of the 20th century. He will be particularly remembered for his pioneering work on homogeneous turbulence, turbulent diffusion, and the dynamics and rheology of suspensions of small particles, areas requiring deep probabilistic thought and methods. There are also many topics in laminar fluid mechanics that bear Batchelor's imprint and name. He also had an exceptional impact on the field through the institutions that he created: the Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics at Cambridge in 1959, which he led for 24 years; Euromech, which he co-founded in the mid 60s, and chaired for over 20 years; and the Journal of Fluid Mechanics which he founded in 1956, and edited for 42 years! He also served IUTAM as Secretary of its Congress Committee in the early 60s and as a member of its General Assembly for more than 25 years. It is particularly appropriate that the fluid mechanics prize sponsored by the Journal of Fluid Mechanics should bear his name.

The Rodney Hill Prize in Solid Mechanics

This prize is to be awarded in recognition of outstanding research in the field of solid mechanics. The prize is to consist of a plaque and a check for US$25,000. The prize is to be awarded every 4 years, to coincide with the quadrennial International Congress of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (ICTAM). Elsevier wishes to establish this prize for 10 years in the first instance, the first prize to be awarded at the ICTAM in Adelaide 2008, and the subsequent prize to be awarded at the following ICTAM.

For further details see the announcement on the IUTAM web-site.

Nonconvex plasticity and deformation microstructures
Michael Ortiz
California Institute of Technology, USA

[+] Abstract

About Rodney Hill

Dr. Rodney Hill is widely regarded as among the foremost contributors to the foundations of solid mechanics over the second half of the 20th century. His early work was central to founding the mathematical theory of plasticity. This deep interest led eventually to general studies of uniqueness and stability in nonlinear continuum mechanics, work which has had a profound influence on the field of solid mechanics - theoretical, computational and experimental alike - over the past decades. Hill was the founding editor of the Journal of the Mechanics and Physics of Solids, still among the principal journals in the field. His work is recognized world wide for the spare and concise style of presentation and for its exemplary standards of scholarship. It is a fitting tribute that the solid mechanics prize sponsored by Elsevier Ltd. bear his name.